Term Dates and Holidays

Holidays in Term-time
Children need the continuity and security of undisrupted learning in school. The law states that schools can only authorise holidays in term time in exceptional circumstances. A pupil’s absence in term time can seriously disrupt their learning. Not only do they miss the teaching provided on the days they are away, they are also less prepared after their return for the lessons building on the ones they have missed. This is particularly damaging at the start of the academic year and at the start of terms. There is a consequent risk of under-achievement which the school and parents must seek to avoid. Parents are reminded that important assessments take place during the Summer Term and that the weeks leading up to these are crucial for a child’s preparation.

For next years term dates please follow this link: 2020 – 2021 School Calendar

In exceptional circumstances, a planned absence may be requested using the holiday request form below.

Holiday/Absence Request form

Request to take your child out of school during term time

“INSET” Days
Every school in the Bath and Wells Multi Academy Trust has five days of staff training within the school year, known as “Inset Days”, when the school is closed to children to enable the teaching staff to undertake training on a particular theme or focus. In 2019-20, the inset days are:

Monday 2nd September 2019
Friday 25th October 2019, Friday 22nd May 2020, Monday 1st June 2020, Monday 20th July 2020

Bathampton Primary School Term Dates 2019-2020

TERM DATES 2019-2020

TERM 1

Start:

Tuesday 3rd September 2019 -Monday 2nd September is an Inset day

NB: Y1-6 children start Tuesday 3rd September

NB: Reception children start Monday, 9th September

Finish:

Children finish Thursday, 24th October

[Friday, 25th October is an inset day]

TERM 2

Start:

Monday, 4th November 2019

Finish:

Friday, 20th December 2019

TERM 3

Start:

Children start Monday, 6th January 2020

Finish:

Friday, 14th February 2020

TERM 4

Start:

Monday, 24th February 2020

Finish:

Friday, 3rd April 2020

TERM 5

Start:

Monday 20th April 2020 [NB school closed Bank Holiday Friday 8th May]

Finish:

Thursday, 21st May 2020 [Friday 22nd May is an inset day]

TERM 6

Start:

Tuesday, 2nd June 2020

[Monday, 1st June is an inset day]

Finish:

Friday, 17th July 2020 [Monday, 20th July is an inset day]

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS:

25 December 2019 – Christmas Day

26 December 2019 – Boxing Day

01 January 2020 – New Year’s Holiday

10th April 2020– Good Friday

13th April 2020 – Easter Monday

8th May 2020 – VE Day 75th Anniversary Bank Holiday

25th May 2020 – Spring Bank Holiday

INSET DAYS:
Monday 2nd September 2019; Friday 25th October 2019; Friday 22nd May 2020; Monday 1st June 2020; Monday 20th July 2020

SPORTS DAY: Option 1 Tuesday 30th June. Option 2 Tuesday 7th July.

December 2019 Newsletter more ›

November 2019 Newsletter more ›

October 2019 Newsletter more ›

Sept 2019 Newsletter more ›

July 2019 Newsletter more ›

June 2019 Newsletter more ›

Sports Day Times and Map more ›

Sports Day Letter June 2019 more ›

For all news articles, click here.

Bathampton Primary School, Tyning Road, Bathampton, Bath BA2 6TQ 

Email: office@bathampton.bwmat.org   Tel: 01225 465229

website by evolve