Bathampton Primary School has a highly effective Governing Body, which now publishes an occasional  newsletter, and makes its Handbook publicly available on this website: Bathampton Primary School Governor Handbook 2015-16.

Find out more about the Governors and their professional backgrounds below. You can see a record of their attendance at meetings of the Full Governing Body here.

The Clerk to Governors is Liz Owens; you can email her with any questions about the Governors on


Kara Maylor, Chair of Governors

Kara Maylor has been a parent governor since 2009. She is Chair of Governors and a member of the Curriculum Committee. She has four children, three of whom are now in senior school and one who is still at Bathampton Primary School. She helps coach the school netball team and runs the school uniform shop. Her background is in text book publishing for university business schools, where she was a commissioning editor. She currently gives violin and piano tuition and helps her husband in his educational publishing and consulting business.

Lin King

Lin King has worked in all aspects of IT in both the public and private sectors, most recently as a project manager.  She chairs the school’s Personnel Committee. She is currently vice-chair of Bathampton Parish Council, where she looks after Planning and Conservation, and she has been its representative on Bathampton Primary School’s governing board since 2009.

Alison Deane

Alison Deane worked as a Systems Analyst and Project Manager before her children were born. Her three children have passed through Bathampton Primary School, during which time she has helped out in the library, the ICT suite and on school trips; she is also an SMSA at the school.  Alison currently chairs both the Premises Committee and the Health and Safety Committee.

Rev. Jonty Frith

As Rector of Bathampton, co-opted as a governor at the end of 2015, Jonty’s special concern regards the relationship between the school and village community, and in particular he wants to maintain and strengthen good links between the parish church and school. He takes regular assemblies and is pleased to host school services on special occasions. Married to a teacher, he once served for four years as a teacher and chaplain in a school for boys and girls aged 7-18. Jonty and his wife have four sons, two of whom are at secondary school.


June Wagstaff

June Wagstaff has been a parent governor since 1994 and is now an LA governor. Her three children all attended Bathampton Primary School and have all recently graduated from university. She has been Chair of the Governors’ Finance Committee for many years. She recently worked for the Department for Education as a Delivery Lead for the Initial Teacher Training division and was formerly a secondary science teacher and a member of the senior management team in a large secondary school.


Paul Falkus

The Head teacher is an ex-officio member of the Full Governing Body.

Nicola Lake

After a year teaching in another school when she first qualified, Nicola Lake has worked as a class teacher at Bathampton Primary School since 1994. She became a teacher-governor in September 2012 and in 2013 she also joined the Curriculum Committee. She was promoted to Deputy Head teacher in September 2013.


Emma Naysmith

Emma Naysmith is a parent governor with two children currently at Bathampton Primary School. Emma is on the Finance Committee, the Premises Committee and the Health and Safety Committee. Emma’s career history revolves around food, being a food technologist to major retailers, and in a management consulting role. She has an MBA from Bath University and founded, then ran, The Mystery Dining Company for six years.

Suzy Yardley

Suzy has three children, one of whom has just moved on to senior school from Bathampton Primary School, and two of whom are still at the school.  She has a Degree and Masters in Psychology, and has worked for the past 17 years in the field of Special Needs, specialising in autism, which has involved working in a range of mainstream primary schools across the UK. She has worked for the past 10 years as Clinical Manager for an autism charity in Ascot. Suzy is Chair of the Governors’ Curriculum Committee.

James Nash

James Nash has two children at Bathampton Primary School. He has a degree in Typography and has worked in the Design and Marketing industry for 20 years. He spent 11 years in Sydney, Australia, where he founded and ran a design agency called “Evolve Creative”. In 2012 James returned home to the UK where he can focus on the family and get involved with school fundraising and events.

Mark Nicholson

Mark Nicholson has three children, two of whom attended Bathampton Primary School and have now moved on to senior school, and one  who is still at the school. He has more than 20 years’ human resources experience in private sector businesses in the UK and New Zealand and is a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD). He is currently Group Head of Human Resources for Wessex Water, based in Bath, and sits on the school’s Personnel Committee.

Cheryl Cook, Vice Chair

Cheryl Cook is a parent governor with two children currently at Bathampton Primary School, and another who will join in 2017.  She is a member of the Finance Committee.  Cheryl qualified as a management accountant in 2000 and has worked as a commercial manager in the private sector and in management consulting roles.  She now works in central government as a programme manager specialising in finance and analytics.



Surely we can solve this community problem? more ›

Jason’s 24 in 24 more ›

School Survey Summary 2016 more ›

Bathampton Primary enjoys Living Streets walk to school week and an active traveller’s picnic more ›

Premier Sport News U more ›

School Healthy Tuck Shop more ›

World book day with Alice Maddicott more ›

Monkton Combe Orchestra Days more ›

For all news articles, click here.

Bathampton Primary School, Tyning Road, Bathampton, Bath BA2 6TQ 

Email:   Tel: 01225 465229

website by evolve